Nuclei in the Cosmos XIV Toki Messe, Niigata, Japan

14th International Symposium on
Nuclei in the Cosmos XIV

19-24 June 2016

Toki Messe, Niigata, Japan

Symposium Topics

Symposium Topics

  • Big-Bang Cosmology, Nucleosynthesis, Dark Matter, and Dark Energy
  • First Generations of Stars and Galactic Chemo-Dynamical Evolution
  • Stellar Evolution and Hydrostatic Nuclear Burning Processes
  • Explosive Nucleosynthesis in Stars
  • Supernovae, Gamma-Ray Bursts and Mergers
  • Novae and X-Ray Bursts
  • Neutron Stars and Hadron Physics
  • Meteoritic Abundances, Interstellar Gas and Dust Astronomy
  • X and γ Ray Astronomy and Cosmic Ray Astrophysics
  • Neutrino Astrophysics and Weak Process
  • Radioactive Nuclei Far From Stability
  • Nuclear Theory in Astrophysics
  • Nuclear Experiments in Astrophysics
  • Nuclear Data and Astrophysics
  • New Facilities in Nuclear Astrophysics and Astronomy


Symposium Proceedings

The proceedings will be published as a volume of the open access journal, JPS (Japan Physical Society) Conference Proceedings

To submit your paper, first you need to register at
Then, you may login with your mail address and the password. Push “Submit a New Paper” on the left hand side in the page, and then process.

The manuscript should be prepared using LaTeX 2e class file or Microsoft Word template that can be downloaded from the author’s page for JPS Conference Proceedings, Other useful information is also available at the page. All papers will be reviewed following the JPS guideline.
The deadline for manuscript submission is scheduled to be about two months after the symposium, August 20th, 2016. If you have any difficulty in meeting the deadline, please consult us for extension. (mail to jpscp-nicxiv at

The page length assignments are provided as follows:

  • 10 pages for 30 min. invited talk
  • 8 pages for 25 min. invited talk
  • 6 pages for 20 min. invited talk
  • 4 pages for all oral talk
  • 3 pages for poster presentation

There are two comments for your convenience in regard to submission;
(1) “The receipt date” should be the day you are submitting your paper to the JPS system.
(2) The proceedings will be published in the online open-access journal of JPS, where there is no charge for color. Since we have a restricted budget for printing, we may or may not print a limited number of books for libraries. So, you can use color without any charge, but you should use different symbols or lines so that the color can be distinguished when printed in black and white.

When you submit your paper to JSPS, you are requested to type in the manuscript number. Please type in the EDAS abstract number which was issued when you submitted the abstract to the EDAS system. You can check it at the symposium website at NIC2016 HP/Registration/EDAS/My paper, where you may click it and then you may find a 10-digit number at the top.

Any inquiries should be directed to the editorial board at (please change _AT_ to @)

S. Kubono (Chief)
The NIC2016 Proceedings Editorial Board


International Advisory Committee

  • Ani Aprahamian (Univ. of Notre Dame)
  • Martin Asplund (Australian National Univ.)
  • John Beacom (Ohio State Univ.)
  • Timothy C. Beers (National Optical Astronomy Observatory)
  • Maurizio Busso (Univ. Degli Studi Di Perugia)
  • Lennox L. Cowie (Univ. of Hawaii)
  • Pierre Descouvemont (Free Univ. of Brussel)
  • Roland Diehl (Max Planck Institut)
  • Iris Dillmann (TRIUMF)
  • Anna Frebel (MIT)
  • Kenneth Freeman (Australian National Univ.)
  • Zsolt Fülöp (Institute of Nuclear Research of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences (ATOMKI))
  • Fairouz Hammache (IPN Orsay)
  • Charles J. Horowitz (Indiana Univ.)
  • Ken-ichi Imai (Japan Atomic Energy Agency)
  • Jordi José (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya)
  • Reiner Krücken (Canada’s national laboratory for particle and nuclear physics (TRIUMF))
  • Karlheinz Langanke (Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung GmbH (GSI))
  • John C. Lattanzio (Monash Univ.)
  • James Lattimer (State Univ. of New York at Stony Brook)
  • Weiping Liu (China Institute of Atomic Energy)
  • Maria Lugaro (Konkoly Observatory)
  • Grant J. Mathews (Univ. of Notre Dame)
  • Francesca Matteucci (Università di Trieste)
  • Gail McLaughlin (North Carolina State University)
  • Georges Meynet (Univ. of Geneva)
  • Masayuki Nakahata (ICRR, Univ. of Tokyo)
  • Larry R. Nittler (Carnegie Institution of Washington)
  • Ken’ichi Nomoto (Kavli Institute, Univ. of Tokyo)
  • Hendrik Schatz (Michigan State Univ.)
  • Stuart L. Shapiro (Univ. of Illinois)
  • Matthias Steinmetz (Leibniz‒Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP))
  • Jirina Stone (Univ. of Oxford)
  • Isao Tanihata (BeiHang Univ. / Osaka Univ.)
  • Friedrich K. Thielemann (Univ. of Basel)
  • Robert Tribble (Brookhaven National Laboratory / Texas A&M Univ.)
  • Hiroshi Tsunemi (Osaka Univ.)
  • Stanford Woosley (Univ. of California at Santa Cruz)

Organizing Committee

  • Toshitaka Kajino (NAOJ/UT, Chair)
  • Shunji Nishimura (RIKEN, Vice Chair)
  • Wako Aoki (NAOJ)
  • Emiko Hiyama (RIKEN)
  • Kunio Inoue (Tohoku University)
  • Yuhri Ishimaru (ICU)
  • Yoshiko Kanada-En’yo (Kyoto University)
  • Nobuyuki Kawai (TITEC)
  • Shigeru Kubono (RIKEN)
  • Masayuki Matsuo (Niigata University)
  • Kyoko Matsushita (Tokyo University of Science)
  • Hiroari Miyatake (KEK)
  • Tohru Motobayashi (RIKEN)
  • Shigehiro Nagataki (RIKEN)
  • Akira Ohnishi (YITP, Kyoto)
  • Takaharu Otsuka (U-Tokyo)
  • Hiroyoshi Sakurai (RIKEN, U-Tokyo)
  • Toshikazu Shigeyama (RESCEU, U-Tokyo)
  • Tatsushi Shima (RCNP, Osaka University)
  • Hirokazu Tamura (Tohoku University)
  • Hiroaki Utsunomiya (Konan University)
  • Shoichi Yamada (Waseda University)
  • Hidetoshi Yamaguchi (CNS, U-Tokyo)
  • Yuzuru Yoshii (IoA, U-Tokyo)
  • Hisayoshi Yurimoto (Hokkaido University)

Executive Committee

  • Toshitaka Kajino (*) (NAOJ/UT, Chair)
  • Shunji Nishimura (*) (RIKEN, Vice Chair)
  • TadaAki Isobe (RIKEN)
  • Shigeru Kubono (*) (RIKEN)
  • Tohru Motobayashi (*) (RIKEN)
  • Shigehiro Nagataki (*) (RIKEN)
  • Takashi Ohtsubo (Niigata University)
  • Tatsushi Shima (*) (RCNP, Osaka University)
  • Hajime Sotani (NAOJ)
  • Takuma Suda (RESCEU, U-Tokyo)
  • Yoichi Takeda (NAOJ)
  • Hiroaki Utsunomiya (*) (Konan University)

(*): denotes member of the Organizing Committee

Supporting Institutions

Supported by

  • National Astronomical Observatory of Japan
  • Nishina Center for Accelerator-Based Science
  • International Union of Pure and Applied Physics
  • Research Center for Nuclear Physics, Osaka University
  • High Energy Accelerator Resarch Organization
  • The Physical Society of Japan
  • Japan Atomic Energy Agency
  • Nuclear Astrophysics Group
  • Institute of Astronomy, Graduate School of Science
  • Neutron Star Matter
  • Japan Radioisotope Association
  • Niigata Prefecture
  • iTHES
  • Nuclear Reaction Data Centre
  • EPJ

Sponsored by

  • CANBERRA Industries Inc.
  • Progress of Theoretical and Experimental Physics
  • TechnoAP
  • Fuji Diamond International
  • G-tech
  • Bourbon

Logo & Poster

Download Symposium Poster and Logo

Symposium Logo

PDF version

Symposium Poster

PDF version